Understanding the Stages of Grief

Grieving is very natural following the death of a loved one. Following his or her funeral in Detroit, you may find that grief stays with you for weeks, even months—and that's okay, because there are as many types and lengths of grieving as there are people in this world. However, many people when they are grieving experience five recognizable stages of grief.

Stages of Grief

Following the death of a loved one, you may experience intense feelings of denial and isolation. For many people, the funeral ceremony helps make the loved one's death more real. You may even feel angry with yourself, others, or the deceased. Some people experience a desire to bargain with themselves, saying that if they had only sought medical help sooner, their loved one would still be here. Depression is typically the fourth stage of grief, which can last for weeks, months, or years after the funeral. Lots of people experience the last stage of grief, which is acceptance. While not everyone reaches this stage of mourning, it is considered a more peaceful and comfortable stage in which the person reflects on the good times without feeling an overwhelming sense of loss.

Categories: Grieving

Contact Us Today How May We Help?

Why Choose
Swansons Funeral Home?

  • Affordable Cremation Services
  • 24/7 Crisis Center
  • Personal Attention
  • Practical Guidance
  • Exceptional Attention to Detail
  • Professional & Highly Trained Staff

Member of the following Associations:

National Funeral Directors Association
International Cemetery, Cremation and Funeral Association
National Funeral Directors & Morticians Association
Federated Funeral Directors of America